DJ's Texas Quizzes

Answers : Texas Sports History

Home | Answers: Austin-Frontier Town | Austin-Frontier Town Quiz | Traveling Through Texas Towns Quiz | The Great Texas Quiz | Texas Rivers Quiz | Texas Greats Quiz | Texas Sports History Quiz | General Texas History Quiz | Texas and the Civil War Quiz | Texas and World War II Quiz | The History of Fort Worth Quiz | Answers : Traveling Through Texas Towns | Answers : The Great Texas | Answers : Texas Greats | Answers : Texas Sports History | Answers: General Texas History | Answers: A Quick Pass Through El Paso History | Answers : Texas and the Civil War | Answers: Texas & World War II | Answers: The History of Fort Worth

1: Assault

Assault was for a time racing's all-time money winner. The King Ranch stables also produced Bold Venture, who won the Kentucky Derby in 1936; Middle ground, who won it in 1950; and High Gun and Rejected, who were big winners in the mid-1950s. All five were trained by racing Hall of Famer Max Hirsch, a native of Fredericksburg.

2: Colt 45s

The team's name was changed to Astros before the 1965 season, in honor of the opening of the Harris County Domed Stadium (better known as the Astrodome).

3: Babe Didrikson Zaharias

Didrikson (she was not yet married) single-handedly outscored the second-place team by eight points. At the 1932 Olympic Games, she won gold medals in the javelin and hurdles and silver in the high jump. Later she became a professional golfer and helped found the Ladies Professional Golf Association.

4: Southern Methodist University

The eight original members were Oklahoma A&M (now Oklahoma State), Rice, Texas A&M, Southwestern, Oklahoma University, Baylor University, the University of Arkansas, and the University of Texas. Southwestern, Oklahoma, and Oklahoma A&M had dropped out by the mid-1920s; SMU joined the Southwest Conference in 1918; and Texas Christian University joined in 1923.

5: Pecos

The 1883 rodeo in Pecos, one of the earliest on record, was the first to award prizes. Five years later a rodeo in Prescott, Arizona, became the first to charge admission, and in 1917 the first indoor rodeo was held in Fort Worth. By the late 1920s rodeos were even attracting spectators in eastern cities such as New York and Boston. The Rodeo Association of America was established in 1929 to standardize rules and establish a point system to determine the world champion cowboys.

6: Ben Hogan

Hogan, nicknamed Hawk, struggled early in his professional career, but Jack Nicklaus called him "the best shot maker the game has ever seen." After Hogan won the British Open in 1953, some 150,000 people turned out for a ticker-tape parade in his honor in New York.

7: San Antonio Spurs

The team played in Dallas for six seasons (including one in which they were called the Texas Chaparrals) before moving to San Antonio before the 1973-74 season.

8: Mickey Mantle

The "Commerce Comet" played in the Class D Kansas-Oklahoma-Missouri League and the Class C Western League before joining the New York Yankees in 1951, and briefly in the Class AAA American Association during that season. Mantle did, however, move to Dallas in 1956 and made the city his home for the rest of his life. Dean, Greenberg, Snider, and Simmons all passed through the Texas League on their way to the major leagues.

9: Minnesota North Stars

During its twenty-six years in Minnesota, the team never won a Stanley Cup. In 1998-99 the Stars posted the best regular-season record in the NHL and finally won their first Stanley Cup. (See Handbook of Texas Online article on DALLAS STARS.)

10: Charles W. Ramsdell

Ramsdell was TSHA treasurer from 1907 until his death in 1942, and was an associate editor of the Southwestern Historical Quarterly from 1910 to 1938. Ramsdell also directed the Interscholastic Athletic Association for three years. In 1912 the UIL, formerly known as the Debating and Declamation League of Texas Schools, added a track and field meet to its activities by taking over the IAA's functions.

Thank you for stopping by!